Sharing is caring
Resources →
Can I Rent a Car in Miami if I'm Under 25?
February 3, 2022

Can I Rent a Car in Miami if I'm Under 25?

Miami is an awesome place to rent a car. You can cruise down that southern coast and visit all sorts of neighborhoods and fun beaches you wouldn’t have access to otherwise. Having a car gives you way more freedom, whether you’re there for business or pleasure. But your age can keep you from these beachside adventures, especially if you’re under 25 and trying to rent a car. 

So you may be asking, “Can I rent a car in Miami if I’m under 25?” The short answer is yes, yes you can. And there are even options. But most rental car companies make it a little bit trickier for folks under 25, and of course, it’s a great opportunity for them to tack on some fees. 

If you’re headed to Miami and need a rental, find out how to make it happen and what you can expect when you rent a car in Florida under 25. 

south beach miami

Why is the rental car age 25? 

The car rental age has traditionally been 25 in most places. Younger drivers have less experience behind the wheel and thus, are more prone to accidents. In order to protect themselves from these costly collisions, rental companies have kept drivers under 25 out of their vehicles entirely. Ultimately, they want to limit risks and limit costs. 

Car rental fees

Nowadays, many car rental companies go a different route. They still want to make sure they cover themselves in the case of an inexperienced driver, so instead they charge what are called “young driver fees.” 

In order to compensate for potential losses, rental companies jack up the daily cost by 10-20% for young drivers, which can be anywhere from $15-35 (or more) per day depending on how much your rental car costs you. Keep in mind that you may not see the actual young driver fee until you pay for the car or even until you pick up the car. So make sure you check each company’s policy before booking. 

These fees can vary not only by company, but by location as well. In other words, the young driver fees may be different in Miami than they are in LA, even if the rental agency is exactly the same. Do your research and ultimately, prepare yourself to pay more. The extra cost is essentially a liability for the company and it’s pretty hard to avoid it. 

Choosing a car rental company 

If you’re under 25 and looking to rent a car in Miami, there are options. Whether or not you can rent a car is usually dependent on the rental companies themselves, and not by state or city laws. However, even within a company, the requirements will different state to state. In Florida, you do need to be 18 to rent a car, and a lot of companies require you to be at least 21 or even 22. But like we said, there are exceptions and it varies. Additionally, some agencies will only allow you to rent a basic sedan if you’re under 25, while others allow for SUVs or even vans. 

No matter what, you’ll probably have to pay a fee.

The exception for under 25 car rental in Miami

With most agencies, there are some exceptions to the general rule of under 25 for car rental. On-duty military personnel are one of those exceptions. If you are working for the military and have government-issued travel orders, you will likely be able to rent a car, even if you’re under 25 years of age. You also may not get charged those extra young driver fees. 

There is also a possibility you can rent a car under 25 if you are traveling on specific business. Of course, you will have to prove this and the policies vary by rental agency. 

What to bring to the rental agency 

Rental companies may ask for additional documentation if you’re under 25, so you will need to be prepared. When you book and go pick up the car, it’s a good idea to make sure you have: 

  • Your reservation confirmation
  • A driver’s license that’s at least a year old, without any serious infractions. That means it has been in good standing for at least a year (no major tickets or suspensions) and isn’t expired. Double check to make sure. 
  • Full insurance on your vehicle, whether that is through the rental agency or your own private rental insurance. Keep in mind that your personal car insurance likely doesn’t include renter’s insurance and you will need to find an alternative. 
  • A passport (if you don’t have a U.S. driver’s license or ID)
  • An international driver’s permit (if you don’t have a U.S. driver’s license)
  • Enough money to cover the additional young driver fees 
  • A credit or debit card with enough credit to cover the temporary deposit charge

Just a heads up that some companies ONLY take credit cards and will not accept a debit card. If you don’t have a credit card, you could easily lose your chance to rent a car.   

Keep in mind that each agency may require different information and documentation. So make sure you’re updated on the agency’s policies. 

Do your research

For under 25 car rental in Miami, do your research. What’s the company’s policy? Do they rent to drivers under 25? Can you rent a car under 25 in Florida with that specific rental agency? Even car share companies can have these restrictions, and they often vary depending on the owner of the vehicle. 

If you’re on a tight budget, make sure you’re well aware of their fees for the car, daily surcharges, and any additional charges you could incur for being under 25. Also, figure out if they accept debit or credit and what other documents you’ll need to bring with you